Blogging…

I read a ‘self help guide’ to blogging the other day, as I am fairly new at this and would like to get better, as I am with most things. I’m not a competitive person really, except when I am competing with myself. For example, when I run a good run in the fastest time, I get angry when I don’t do the same the next day. I always tell myself ‘let’s have a nice, easy run today’, and always end up sprinting to the finish line to see if I made a PB. 

So, I was told that I had to have a direct subject to blog about. I had a think about some of my  previous posts, and realised that the subject is myself. This sounds vain/arrogant, but I feel that this blog has been an outlet for me to express my feelings. Like a virtual, very public diary. I have no wish to write about one specific thing, as I don’t have anything directly specific to me yet that I feel should take sole charge of Busy as a B(ethany). I have found that I just love writing! I feel like a happy-clappy Brownie leader at the moment and it is making me cringe a little bit, not gonna’ lie.

Something else the blog guide told me to do was to write EVERY DAY. Now, if I have any dedicated followers out there (please feel free to speak up!) they should know that I do not blog every day. At the most I try and blog once a week. But I will now strive to write every day (or maybe every other day) and entertain the blogging community with my ramblings. 

So, what has happened today? Today, I have been working on my essay for a module about British Fiction in the post war era (1940+). I’m going to write about ‘Look Back in Anger’ and ‘Trainspotting’ as I really enjoyed the latter and feel that the former fits in well with the latter (and no, this has nothing to do with Ewan McGregor). Here is a link to the former (and no, it has nothing to do with Kenneth Branagh. Seriously. But give me him as Iago any day of the week).

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Jt9ZXgTOEE

Have a watch, and let me know if you feel the play expresses a ‘them and us’ class attitude. Or does it? I have my own theories, but would be delighted for other opinions. As long as they don’t completely shut my theory up, as I have spent all day working on my argument, and would have wasted a lot of expensive highlighter ink.

Leave a Reply

