Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief

I am sorry, John le Carre, but I do not understand any of your book, ‘Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy’ and I have read 151/422 pages of it. Who is Lacon? Is Control a person or the headquarters of the spies? Why are the characters doing what they are doing? Or, more importantly, what are they even doing?

You can see that my questions are vague because I cannot understand what is going on. I keep zoning in and out of consciousness, and by the time I tune back in again, someone has gone abroad or a new character is here or someone is thinking about something else… the vagueness is killing me.

Is that the point of your writing, Mr le Carre? Is it to show the vague politics of the Cold War era? The secrecy and the lies of the legislation behind it all? Because I get that, I really do, just please spell things out for me, just once, and then I promise I will read the rest of your novel and not complain.

I’m so confused I think I need to watch another episode of New Girl and /or have a sandwich.

Leave a Reply

